Around me

I have been living in Bordeaux since October 2014. It’s a very pretty and organised city, and as most of you may know, is famous for its wines.

Local food in Bordeaux is heavily influenced by South Western French cuisine,  because, well it is in the South West of France. You can find good quality patés, confits, terrines, magret and many products linked to poultry. Foie gras, which is fattened duck or goose liver is produced a lot in this region (although I’m not a big fan of this as I hate the taste of liver.) You can also taste some world famous oysters -huitres- in Arcachon, which is like 45 minutes drive from Bordeaux, by the Atlantic Ocean.

Another local delicacy is “canelé” which is a “small French pastry with a soft and tender custard center and a dark, thick caramelized crust” according to Wikipedia. When first heard its name I thought it would have a cinnamony taste (because cinnamon is “canelle” in French) however I was surprised to find out that it has a taste like nothing else. Like seriously if you would ask me to describe how it tastes I could probably just tell you “surprising”. The texture is nothing like I imagined and it has a very distinct taste. I am planning on finding a recipe to try and do it at home, will make a post about it if I do. You can see what they look like on the picture below.

5138800271_a5400e39ec_b
©phalenebdlv/Flickr

The area that I live is called Talence, imagine it like another town (has its own post code) but it’s like 10 minutes away from Bordeaux city center, just next to it. There isn’t much that goes on in here, besides the fact that University Of Bordeaux has its campus here. There is also a private business school. So there are a lot of students as you can imagine, but it’s usually pretty calm. That’s why I love here, it’s not noisy, there’s a big park next to our building and we are so close to city center!

I guess this is it for my first post! I will try to update this with new pictures of Bordeaux when I can. Ciao for now!

 

Leave a Reply

